3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

high pitched noise when accelerated

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2011, 06:58 PM
06Dak4.7Silver
Record Breaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool high pitched noise when accelerated

i recently had my truck at the dealership to get a new tcase under warranty. the part was free which was amazing and of course they convinced me to do some maintenance on the truck. some of the things they did involve cleaning fuel injectors, a tuneup, etc. Since i got it back i notice a high pitched noise when i press the gas pedal and it is insanely annoying. my original thoughts were an air leak or possibly a vacuum line but i have no clue what it is. i am a mechanic so can fix it when i get a chance i just dont know what the problem is

Old 01-23-2011, 07:26 PM
Backwoods18
Record Breaker

I am not sure what it could be, but welcome to DF 3rd Gen Section. You can find just about anything on this forum and no question usually goes un-answered.

Old 01-23-2011, 07:34 PM
Desert_Rat
Rookie
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I think I have the same thing going on with my 05. When I push the gas it sounds almost like a brake squeel or kind of like a deisel when they accelerate. Its been driving me nuts for the past 2 years but nobody at the shops I've taken it to has been able to tell me what it is. If you have the same thing going on and figure out what it is please let me know so I can fix it.

I would be forever greatful!!!!

Old 01-23-2011, 07:37 PM
Eimer123
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I would start with popping open the hood and checking simple items like
- did they reinstall an air filter
- are all the air hoses connected properly
- the the air box connected to the throttle body
- with the engine off and engine cool check the fan to see if it spins freely

Old 01-23-2011, 07:38 PM
06Dak4.7Silver
Record Breaker