3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Long time no see all, Auburn LSD question.

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2011, 05:09 PM
FrenicX
Record Breaker
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Long time no see all, Auburn LSD question.

Hey everyone, it's been a while since I posted anything and I haven't been reading the forum much lately either. I just have a quick simple question before I start my first project with my '05

I'm going to get an Auburn LSD from eBay, just like the one Blown got for his. My question is, do I need to get the master install kit that he got too? Or is that just for the 3.55 he was installing at the same time? Also, what else should I get for the procedure as well?

I'm a newbie at vehicle mechanics, but I'm really good with my hands so I'm pretty sure that time an patience will prevail for me here. I just need a starting point is all.

Thanks in advance, and glad to see at least some of you are still keeping your trucks.

Old 11-10-2011, 06:16 PM
HammerZ71
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Install kit only needed for a ring & pinion swap...

Old 11-16-2011, 04:33 PM
FrenicX
Record Breaker

Originally Posted by HammerZ71
Install kit only needed for a ring & pinion swap...

Thanks for responding. Your post was a lot more beneficial than you might think. Your well used "..." at the end effected me on a psychological level and I realized that this is a much more advanced project than I originally thought. I'm glad I researched that a bit more before starting to tear it all apart.

Now I'm going to eat my words, and my budget. I'm going to the shop tomorrow to have it installed.

Old 11-16-2011, 04:44 PM
thunder98110
Champion
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

how much for the install? i need a new lsd too.

Old 11-16-2011, 05:55 PM
FrenicX
Record Breaker

Originally Posted by thunder98110
how much for the install? i need a new lsd too.