3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

How are the auto transmissions in 3rd gen dakotas?

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2012, 03:12 AM
renegade509
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How are the auto transmissions in 3rd gen dakotas?

I am researching new pickups that I may be buying soon. I am curious if the 3rd gen dakotas have any history of weak transmissions and transmission related problems? From what I have learned the 3rd gen ram pickups have much better tranny's than the 1st and 2nd gen. Are Dakotas the same?

Thanks in advance.

Old 02-29-2012, 05:24 AM
FrenicX
Record Breaker
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The 3rd Gen Dakotas actually have the same exact transmission as the 3rd Gen ram. The 5-45RFE holds up nicely to hemi, and even better to the 4.7. This is assuming we are talking about the v8. The v6, which is a different transmission, I have no experience with, but I don't see many issues with it. It was used in many vehicles as well.

Good luck in your search, we wouldn't mind adding to our group here at the most active and helpful 3rd Gen Dakota section of any dodge forum. Enjoy

Old 02-29-2012, 07:28 AM
Eimer123
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Agreed the 545RFE is a Superior transmission that saved Dodge from the bad rep of transmissions.

Old 02-29-2012, 07:55 AM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 349 Likes on 310 Posts