3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

DS708 scanner Transmission question

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2016, 10:16 AM
Soco3087
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DS708 scanner Transmission question

Ok guys I need some help. I have a 08 Dakota quad cab 62,000 miles, 4x4 v8 with a 545rfe transmission. I have a Autel DS708 scanner and I have been using it to troubleshoot what I feel is a delayed shift of my transmission. Now I hook the scanner up got into live data and pull up all the transmission related data. Now the does tool display whether I am in park reverse nutral or drive. But when I go to the present gear, and target gear data all I get is N/A. Is anyone familiar with this and know if maybe I am doing something worng or if that n/a I see is the transmission problem I might be feeling and if so what might it be. I am new to this scanner I know it's more for professional but I got it at a great deal so I figure give it a try. So if I'm doing it worng let me know please. Thanks

Old 11-15-2016, 01:01 PM
pierrejoly
Veteran
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

did you upgrade to the latest software? there might be a compatability issue with the current software and the transmission that the data is not available on that software version.

have your reset your PCM (disconnect the battery for about 30 minutes) and seen if that made a difference?

also, are you having a delayed shift on all gears, or just one? in either case, it could very well be the shift solenoid.

Old 11-15-2016, 02:53 PM
Soco3087
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts