3rd Gen Durango 2011+ models

Windshield Replacement on lease..

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2013, 10:22 AM
zoso59brst
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Windshield Replacement on lease..

Hi all,

noob here. I'm leasing a '13 R/T and I need to replace the windshield. Do I need to replace with OEM/Mopar glass or can I just have Safelite come throw an aftermarket on it? This is my first lease and I'd prefer not to have any surprises at the end.

Thanks

2013 R/T - 5.7 Hemi - 6spd - Max. Steel

Old 07-18-2013, 10:56 AM
FSTDANGO3
Champion

I dont think they will notice as long as it's a good install
STEVE

Old 07-18-2013, 12:29 PM
Orin500XL
Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If your insurance covers it, take the car to a Dodge dealer for OEM replacement. You really don't want to turn it back in and have them find a non-OEM windshield.
If you're going with Brand X then check the measurements real carefully. A couple of mm here and there can add up to a leak. Also the thickness needs to be verified.
Run of thumb: If I was going to be driving this car for another 5 years what would I do?

Old 07-18-2013, 12:37 PM
hairless_ape
Rookie

Jebus Orin, you're one paranoid dude.

Anyway, don't use Safelite or any of those national chains...they're all a rip-off. Call around to every local shop, I guarantee you'll find a place that's at least 30-40% cheaper and they'll probably due better work. Good luck.

Old 07-18-2013, 02:59 PM
zoso59brst

Thanks everyone. So if I do an aftermarket windshield, and they actually catch it, I'm paying out of pocket for a mopar windshield? Guess I'll see how bad the price difference actually is and see if it's worth the risk.

Old 07-18-2013, 05:20 PM
Orin500XL
Captain

[QUOTE=hairless_ape;3048209]Jebus Orin, you're one paranoid dude.[QUOTE]

I think of it as cautious and thorough. :-)

Old 07-19-2013, 07:55 AM
bbtkd
Veteran

Originally Posted by zoso59brst