Tire pressure sensor - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge SUVs > Dodge Durango > 3rd Gen Durango
Reload this Page > Tire pressure sensor
3rd Gen Durango 2011 models

Tire pressure sensor

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 11-12-2017, 01:22 PM
Moimeme
Moimeme is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Default Tire pressure sensor

Hi all,
I have a dodge Durango 2014 LTD 2014 and I installed steel rim for my winter tires, My wheels are not equipped with pressure sensors. Other than the pressure light, can there be other problems related to this?

Thank you!
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2017, 03:02 PM
primem
primem is offline
Captain
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 618
Default

nope. your fine.
2014 may have a winter mode for the tpm...if it does, you can deactivate the system until you install the summer wheels
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2017, 02:02 PM
shrpshtr325's Avatar
shrpshtr325
shrpshtr325 is offline
THE ULTI-MOD
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Union NJ
Posts: 19,391
Default

no wont cause any problems except aggravation from the light being on.

i have never heard of a 'winter mode' for the tpms but id love to hear more if it exists.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2017, 02:54 PM
jkeaton's Avatar
jkeaton
jkeaton is offline
Site Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 20,975
Default

Originally Posted by shrpshtr325 View Post
no wont cause any problems except aggravation from the light being on.

i have never heard of a 'winter mode' for the tpms but id love to hear more if it exists.
Fake news.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2017, 08:28 AM
shrpshtr325's Avatar
shrpshtr325
shrpshtr325 is offline
THE ULTI-MOD
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Union NJ
Posts: 19,391
Default

Originally Posted by jkeaton View Post
Fake news.

this is what i thought, was trying not to be too dickish about it
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2017, 10:09 AM
primem
primem is offline
Captain
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 618
Default only siths deal in absolutes

lol just teasing you ...your not sith lords but it is true....Canadian vehicles have this. you will get this code when its in winter mode C1597-00-TPM SYSTEM DEACTIVATED-WINTER MODE
here is the service information from a 2017 ds:

CHECK FOR TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING (TPM) WINTER MODENOTE:Repair all other RF -Hub Module DTCs before continuing with this test procedure.1.Turn the ignition off.2.Turn the ignition from off to on.3.Check for the following conditions:
  • The telltale lamp is off.
  • The tire pressure values in the Instrument Cluster are displayed as dashes.
  • The message center is not displaying "SERVICE TPM SYSTEM".
Are all of the above conditions correct?

Yes
  • The Tire Pressure Monitoring (TPM) Module is now in deactivation mode (Winter Mode). This DTC will remain active until the correct tire and wheel assemblies are installed back on the vehicle. Once one of the correct tire and wheel assemblies are reinstalled, the other three must also be reinstalled prior to turning the ignition on.
 

Last edited by primem; 11-14-2017 at 10:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-14-2017, 10:25 AM
primem
primem is offline
Captain
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 618
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: