3rd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 3rd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

Gas mileage and computer accuracy with different sized wheels.

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2012, 01:32 AM
drave199
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gas mileage and computer accuracy with different sized wheels.

I have an 02 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT with the 5.9 L. only Mods are a Magnaflow cat-back system and a K&N Cold air intake.
It seems im getting really poor gas mileage (9.4 according to the trip computer). i know not to expect good gas mileage but that seems lower than it should. i do have 20inch wheels on it. those were the ones on it when i bought the truck. i believe that stock wheels on this was 17 inch. could the 20 inch wheel make either the gas mileage go do or make the computer off?
another question is about my gas tank. its the first dodge ive owned so im new to it. when my gas light comes on(when its less than 1/8 of a tank) i go to put gas in and it only takes a little over 22 gallons. could there still be 4 gallons still in there?? thanks for the help!

Last edited by drave199; 02-29-2012 at 01:39 AM.
Old 02-29-2012, 07:02 AM
HammerZ71
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Yes 20" wheels are significantly heavier than 17" wheels and will negatively effect both performance and MPG. However, if the tire diameter is the same as stock then the speedometer/trip computer/etc. won't be off. If you are running larger diameter tires than stock, then you are getting better gas mileage than the odometer or trip computer would indicate.