3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1500 mega cab questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2008, 11:23 PM
Larry Madden
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1500 mega cab questions

I am wanting to buy a 1500 mega cab and had a few questions for the owners.
How do you like it over all?
What kind of mileage?

I had a 2003 QC 4X4 1500 hemi for 3 months till some one stole it. I loved it. I built front and back replacement bumpers, put steps, dual exhaust. The dealer told me it had the century key but come to find out it didnot. I am now ready to get another dodge.

Old 03-16-2008, 12:57 AM
ThaChad
Professional
Default RE: 1500 mega cab questions

I have an '06 1500 MegaCab 4x4.

I LOVE my truck, it's extremely easy to drive, dispite how big it is. I have a Superchips, and Flowmaster 50 Series HD muffler with Dual Exhaust. I only have5 majior complaints... #1 They should have put 33" tires on the truck from the factory. (The gap between the top of the tire and the bottom of the wheel well is HUGE! I can stick 1/2 my body in there!). #2 They should have came with atleast 4:10 gears, if not 4:56 from the factory. #3 The Infinity system sucks, and is NOT worth the money. #4 The headlights are almost useless, the fog lights work better for headlights than the actual headlights.(Don'tget one with out fog lights or you will be sorry). #5 GAS MILEAGE SUCKS!!

If I knew what I know now, before I purchased the truck, I would have bought the 5.9L CTD! 18-22mpg reported by some... I only get 9-12 MPG with the HEMI.

The Hemi has PLENTY of power, even for such a heavy truck (actually built on the 2500 Long bead frame), but with gas prices touching $4.00/gal, CTD just makes more since.

-TheChad

Old 03-16-2008, 08:29 AM
VA4MEDS
Veteran