3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

rtv or gasket?? mobil 1 or amsoil??

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2008, 01:51 PM
ryland
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rtv or gasket?? mobil 1 or amsoil??

I'm changing my diff fluid this weekend in the front and back. Should I use rtv or use a gasket?? I've never done it before but for some reason the rtv seems hard to use. Any advice would be great. I have the 9.25 and from what I can tell I'll need three quarts for the front and three for the back of 75-90 and 75-140. Should I use mobil 1 or amsoil severe gear for the front and back. Those are realy my only choices at the auto parts store unless I go to another town to buy the oil. I dont have the lsd and both those oils have the friction modifyer in them but from what I've heard it dosent matter eventhough I dont need it. Also the amsoil isn't in a gear oil bottle? is it had to put in?? any advice?

Old 09-12-2008, 01:55 PM
xfeejayx
3rd gen Ram, Newbies

rtv, and i vote amsoil, but you can't go wrong either way. there is a DIY for this in the DIY section.

yea, its a bit of a pain with the amsoil bottle, but i got creative with a funnel and it worked out.

Old 09-12-2008, 04:14 PM
Off_Road_Teacher
Banned
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I just did mine last weekend and used rtv, no leaks so far. I also used the mobil 1 which seems like a pretty good product to me.

Old 09-12-2008, 05:29 PM
Gone Fishin
Record Breaker

The trick to getting RTV to last forever----so to speak---is to make absolutely sure that both mating surfaces are totally clean and dry. Using a scotchbrite pad doesn't hurt either. Then, once you have it all bolted in place, let the RTV set up for a few hours, if not over night before you add the gear oil.

Old 09-13-2008, 09:05 PM
throberts
Professional