3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Adding Power windows to a 2008, help

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2009, 01:41 PM
cclose1@gmail.com
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Adding Power windows to a 2008, help

I would like to add power windows to my 2008 reg cab SL. But i am not sure how to go about it. I am a college student, so i have time, but not a lot of money, i am fairly handy and i have all the necessary tools. I would really like to keep it under 200 bucks if possible. Here are my questions:

Can i just add a motor/switches to the manual window regulator that is already in place?

Can i use switches from another vehicle? (u pull it?)

Where is the best place to buy OEM window motor/regulator?

Or Should i just break down and buy a kit from electric life?

Any other info/problems i should know about before tackling this project?

Thanks for all your help!

Old 01-28-2009, 04:49 PM
derricksmash
V6 Ram Moderator

it's prolly worth taking somewhere. this place called AG Motorsport will do an alarm, keyless entry and power windows for me for 700 out the door.

Old 02-01-2009, 01:40 AM
7mmmag1
Professional

dont forget youd have to change the door panels, if it were me id just get a new set of doors from pull a part that are the same color and just put the new doors on, and sell yours on ebay or something

that is if you can find the doors

Old 02-04-2009, 04:37 AM
derricksmash
V6 Ram Moderator

do u really need to change door panels? u need to alter them...but not necesarrily change them, right?

Old 02-05-2009, 01:59 PM
cclose1@gmail.com

You don't need to get new door panels, you can mod the panels and put the switch where the roll up handle used to be. Or cap the hole, and cut a new one for the switch.