How to see error codes - DodgeForum.com


Notices

3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

How to see error codes

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 03-06-2009, 09:06 PM
jahuskey
jahuskey is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Default How to see error codes

Hi, I'm new here. The check engine light has come on in my 04 Ram PU, and like to try and get an idea of what's wrong before I take it. Can anyone tell me how to get the error codes to display. I tried on off on off on with no success. Suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks
Jill
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2009, 12:26 PM
lghtngblt02's Avatar
lghtngblt02
lghtngblt02 is offline
The RAM Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lemoyne, Pennsylvania
Posts: 9,583
Default

Welcome to DF Jill, Ill move this over to the 3rd gen Ram Section for better input. Some of the guys/gals over there should give you an idea of whats wrong. Enjoy the site.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2009, 01:19 PM
nim81's Avatar
nim81
nim81 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: fredericktown
Posts: 2,400
Default

try going to an autoparts store. i know autozone will check them for free
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2009, 01:58 PM
irelandshemi's Avatar
irelandshemi
irelandshemi is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: michigan
Posts: 933
Default

not 100% sure but i think its get in buckle your seatbelt and turn the key on off on off on and leave it on and it should do it, (dont turn the car on every time just from the first click to the second and back
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2009, 02:23 PM
Ilovemytruck
Ilovemytruck is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 253
Default

It should say "DONE" if a code doesnt pull up. DO the key trick then it displays codes or DONE. Codes will have a P and then numbers like P0703 or something. If that doesnt work, autzone will scan it but can't come close to a starscan at the stealer...
Good luck...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2009, 02:32 PM
OlDirtyJohn's Avatar
OlDirtyJohn
OlDirtyJohn is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 1,854
Default

i know in my area none of the parts stores do a code scan anymore due to a lawsuit. but, i did get a nice little code scanner that also clears codes and checks all your sensors for like $40. Its come in real handy, and works nice.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2009, 03:01 PM
nim81's Avatar
nim81
nim81 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: fredericktown
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irelandshemi View Post
not 100% sure but i think its get in buckle your seatbelt and turn the key on off on off on and leave it on and it should do it, (dont turn the car on every time just from the first click to the second and back
you dont have to buckle you seat belt but it usually takes me like 5 or 6 tries with the on off trick before i can get it to work
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
just1creation
Dodge Stratus
1
08-04-2015 10:05 AM
Sembach5
Dodge Neon
0
08-02-2015 10:55 PM
MoparNut87
1st Gen Durango
9
07-30-2015 04:30 PM
Sembach5
Dodge Neon
0
07-28-2015 09:14 PM
Crytot
1st Gen Dakota
5
07-13-2015 05:26 PM



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.