3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2009, 10:23 AM
speed_man13
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust

I couldnt find anything on the V6 forum for exhaust. Will I really do anything good putting on a different exhaust? I wanna y pipe it(cat back) but was just wondering if it will do anything (benefits) for horsepower or anything. Not much of a mechanic but really just getting into it. eing a V6 and all, was just really curious, or would I just be doing it for looks.

Old 03-15-2009, 12:21 PM
chambers
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I think it will help, but I'm no mechanic either. From everything I have read back pressure is BS when you have a catalytic converters, but you do need to worry about exhaust velocity. If your pipe is too big then you will lose velocity and power. I'm debating between a new y pipe and muffler vs. true duals with new mufflers and smaller piping so I don't lose exhaust velocity. Either one if done right should give it some more kick.

Old 03-15-2009, 03:58 PM
derricksmash
V6 Ram Moderator

Originally Posted by chambers
I think it will help, but I'm no mechanic either. From everything I have read back pressure is BS when you have a catalytic converters, but you do need to worry about exhaust velocity. If your pipe is too big then you will lose velocity and power. I'm debating between a new y pipe and muffler vs. true duals with new mufflers and smaller piping so I don't lose exhaust velocity. Either one if done right should give it some more kick.
negative. when i switched from my 40 series, to my 50 series, the difference in low end torque was just as big as when i replaced my exhaust manifolds with headers.

Old 03-15-2009, 06:23 PM
chambers
Record Breaker