3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Is this a good deal?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2009, 09:20 AM
Cory S
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is this a good deal?

Hey guys, I'm new to trucks, turbos, and diesel, have done most of my modding on LT1 fbodies.

I have been looking for a diesel 4x4 truck and I came across this and fell in love with the looks

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2002-DODGE-RAM-2500-SLT-LARAMIE-4X4-DIESEL-LIFTED-TX_W0QQitemZ320377346505QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUS_Cars _Trucks?hash=item4a97fa59c9&_trksid=p4506.c0.m245& _trkparms=72%3A317|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A1308

Few things stick out, the miles seem really dang high...but I hear diesels have more life in them than gas engines...how true is that?

It has a skyjacker lift, don't those handle like crap on the road?

It is a 6 cylinder, but yet it is a turbo, so I don't know how much power this thing has. It would need to routinely pull my car to the track...about 6 thousand pounds with trailer. I'm sure it has tons of torque with that setup, but My guess is Hp would be in the low to mid 200s? How is that going to do at keeping highway speeds?

It probably has stock gears how is that going to do with the lift and tires on it?

It says it has frame damage, I guess there is no way to know how serious or repairable that is what out seeing it, and it is a 6 hour drive from me.

He mentions he is changing out driveshafts and u joints, could that be from taking shortcuts with the lift kit?

So, what do you guys think of it?

Last edited by Cory S; 06-03-2009 at 09:24 AM.
Old 06-03-2009, 09:41 AM
Bigc9164
Veteran

it has alot of miles. thats a turnoff. but looks like a nice truck if you want an older one.

Old 06-03-2009, 09:52 AM
Cory S

How long does the drive train on those usually hold up?