3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

SC Cortex vs SCT tune

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2009, 04:17 AM
xill
Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SC Cortex vs SCT tune

was talking with nick over at AirRam today and he told me that they're now offering SCT tuning with lifetime updates and tweaks. I'm new to SCT tuning and while it seems very beneficial, i wanted to hear from some people that have had it done already. I have the Superchips Cortex, which i mainly got to recalibrate for my tires and gear swap, but i know it does do a little bit of tuning for better performance as well. anyone ever upgrade from superchips to a SCT tune? was it worth the extra money? Nick is offering a pretty good deal right now, so i wanna jump on it if there's drastic improvements for me over the boxed superchips i already have (in which case i'll be selling my cortex asap)...

Old 11-12-2009, 07:04 AM
HammerZ71
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Still no tranny support from SCT and hell, last time I talked to Marty at KRC, didn't even support over-size tire calibrations for my '04.

Sucks b*lls too, cause I was really wanting to use a custom SCT tune when I did the cam that's gathering dust in my garage...

Old 11-12-2009, 08:42 AM
oefootball_70
Champion
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Well there is hope, you can run BOTH hammer

As far as personal experience, I have none. I just know that if you plan on more of a heavily modded truck then you will benefit more from the SCT.

Old 11-12-2009, 09:28 AM
RubberFrog
Champion

Unless you are doing a cam, sct will be a downgrade with no tranny/tire support.

Old 11-12-2009, 09:49 AM
SilsHemi
All Star

Heads, cams, etc. will need custom tuning. = SCT