3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Wheels and Tire help???

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2010, 08:38 AM
mikbimdre
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wheels and Tire help???

I need some help. I just bought the PA 3" body lift kit and the AAC Halos. I haven't put them on yet but when I do it is going to look really dumb with the stock 17" tires I have on now. I've searched around here and I can't really find a good thread that gives me a bunch of options for what will fit on my truck. Does anyone have suggestions. I want a bigger tire but I don't really know how big I can go or how wide? I'm kind of new at all this stuff. And I'm not against getting some new wires either.

Old 04-20-2010, 09:50 AM
HammerZ71
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

First of all, unless you are a big fan of the "rake" look, I'd either crank the front key bolts a bit or look into a set of inexpensive leveling keys to go in combination with the body lift. This will also give you the added lift in the front you are gonna want if you opt for 35" tires.

At that point, any good A/T or M/T tire in the 33" to 35" range would be a good choice. If you want to go 12 -12.5" wide on the tires, then replacing the wheels with a 17x9 wheel with a 0 to negative offset and about 4.25 - 4.5" of backspacing would be highly advisable.

Personally, I've always been a big fan of the Mickey Thompson and Dick Cepek wheels. They offer a good looking wheel at a very competitive price and their strength to weight ratio is about the best you'll find out there.