3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Suspension Clunking (long post alert)

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2010 | 10:14 AM
Nothin'_but_trucks
|
Professional
Default Suspension Clunking (long post alert)

Alright guys I'm not a mechanically inclined guy but most of the time I just do a little searching and I can fix what needs to be fixed. This isn't one of those cases. About a week ago I was a little over zealous on a broken up road and noticed some clunking from the front end the next day. Not squeaking but clunking, think of two 2x4s hitting one another. I assumed that it would just take some time for it to go away since I normally baby the truck on rough roads and I had probably just shocked it a little more than its used to. Had a similar experience in a dakota previously.

Of course I inspected everything and everything is still together, all connections are tight, all bushings are perfect, except for what I believe are the control arm bushings (directly behind and beneath the brakes?), they are cracked identically on each side so I need to get them replaced however I do not believe this to be the source of the clunks. Theya re both too perfectly identically cracked for them to both have occured last week.

The clunking isn't any worse over bumps and the ride is exactly how it was before. It seems that any kind of body flex creates the clunks, regardless of flat smooth road conditions, bumpy roads, or simply getting in and out of the truck. I've sprayed all the bushing with WD40 to see if that would ease anything and nothing.

Should I wait it out and see if it decipitates or if any of you has had/heard a similar experience what was the fix?

Old 07-12-2010 | 10:54 AM
brettj2408
Captain

do you hear it in the rear mostly or the front?