03' window lock switch bad? Windows dont work on any except for driver switch - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page > 03' window lock switch bad? Windows dont work on any except for driver switch
Notices
3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

03' window lock switch bad? Windows dont work on any except for driver switch

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 10-04-2010, 04:57 PM
Smokedlights
Smokedlights is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Palm Springs, ca
Posts: 50
Default 03' window lock switch bad? Windows dont work on any except for driver switch

Just got an 03 ram quad cab, was trying to google and search, im guessing my window lock switch is bad? I can roll all windows up and down from drivers side but none work from any of the other doors. Its exactly as if the window lock is on but its not, ive turned it off and on back and fourth nothing. Is the switch bad or something else? or is there a way to bypass it or??
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2010, 05:13 PM
Tactstyle's Avatar
Tactstyle
Tactstyle is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 27
Default

Im in the same boat, I've had my truck about a year and a half and every once in a while when its really hot the other doors work. I asked once before but never really figured out a solution so I've pretty much just lived with it.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2010, 06:21 PM
mike_r
mike_r is offline
Professional
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 146
Default

I had that problem. Turns out that it's the connection to the drivers side door switches. Mine was corroded. I just blasted some contact cleaner in there and it's worked a lot better. There are still a few times that it doesn't work. Just hit the door below the switches and they start working for me again.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2010, 06:31 PM
jake7
jake7 is offline
All Star
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 879
Default

It's def a common problem....Mine does it as well. I haven't had time to take the switches out to look at yet.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2010, 07:27 PM
MikeHTally's Avatar
MikeHTally
MikeHTally is offline
Champion
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N. Florida
Posts: 4,694
Default

Common issue. Mine does it every now and then. The contact cleaner solution will probably work. Some contact cleaners have silicone in them. That might last longer. The one I remember from my electronic servicing days was a blue foam.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2010, 07:34 PM
jake7
jake7 is offline
All Star
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 879
Default

MikeH- Did you just take out the switch board and spray down the wires? Or did you take off the door and do something more? Did you do it on all the door switches?
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2010, 11:36 PM
kx250frider617's Avatar
kx250frider617
kx250frider617 is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 1,562
Default

I had the problem and it was a bad child lock, so instead of buying a whole $120 switch, I hard wired the child lock so it doesn't work and lets me roll down the windows when ever. I have a post somewhere around here of my DIY.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-05-2010, 10:23 AM
Smokedlights
Smokedlights is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Palm Springs, ca
Posts: 50
Default

child lock is door locks isnt it? anyway i took it apart , i think it wasnt coming fully up, and i couldnt pull it up with the colored bezel on it. I took that off and played with it for a minute and pulled up on the switch it self, and plugged it back in and all is good now, hopefully it last. Where exactly are you guys spraying cleaner?? where the whole switch plugs in?? Not sure why that would work since everything else is working great and its all in the same plug
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-05-2010, 10:45 AM
Denniss66
Denniss66 is offline
Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 498
Default

i took mine apart too it only worked for a little bit i took all the switches and cleaned that goop out that was in the child lock switch and tried playing with the prongs it worked for a bit but then the gf keeps using it cause the kids and it eventually quits working again.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
V_pecak
Dodge Stratus
2
09-04-2017 03:50 PM
LONEWOLF2007
2nd Gen Durango
5
12-06-2016 04:04 PM
tbugden
1st Gen Dakota
6
07-05-2015 10:39 PM
janicedauw
Dodge Caravan
1
07-04-2015 07:12 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: