3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Need help with ticking 4.7

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2011, 03:25 AM
noisyram
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with ticking 4.7

Hey guys im new to the dodge thing and i love fourms but cannot navigate them to well. i know people get pissy when you just start a new thread so i hope this is the right place. im a cadillac guy (cars) but i needed a cheap truck (as car guys do) so i bought an 03 4.7 ram with a bad engne noise. more of a tick than a knock its there all the time. i just bought it so i dont know the history but it is very clean with 60k miles. doesnt look sludged at all.

so.... i figured it was chain slap ordered a timing chain kit c/w tensioners threw them in tonight. put the whole thing back together. still ticks (might be quieter not sure).
while i was in there i found that my right side tensioner was fully extended and siezed guides worn pretty bad. thought i had nailed it!!

so i tore it down again reset the tensioners (figured i somehow extended the ratchet) started again and it still ticks. my exhaust bolts are present and my cam and lifters look fine (nothing obvious) the noise sounds mechanical and i cant pin it down with my stethescope.

noise is there with the serp belt on or off. and at all rpm's. its not "time for a new engine" noise but its bad enough that i wont drive it.

give me a 4.6 northstar and your problems are over but i dont have any experience with this 4.7 any help would be greatly apreciated.