3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Worried

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2011, 10:02 PM
Cognos Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Worried

When I decided to buy this truck it was really because the dealer is reputable and the truck looked super clean. Every detail was as to be expected. I am not an expert in buying vehicles which is why I went to a dealer. During the test drive, the truck handled well and everything seemed normal. After driving it for 3 weeks, I am concerned with a couple of things:
1) the truck seems a bit under powered under normal driving conditions.
2) the mileage is absolutely terrible on it, even while expecting bad mileage, I am still surprised by it. Under 10 mpg.
There are no codes showing on it and I honestly don't know where to begin. I don't want to find out that I made a mistake with this truck especially after deciding not to get the extended warranty.
I am not afraid to do things myself but I am not a fan of throwing parts at the truck until the problem is fixed. I am not rich by any means. If I was, I would have probably got a 4x4 diesel" but that's another story.

The truck did originally have a small leak in the vacuum line (p0456) but a new gas cap seems to have fixed the problem. I was hoping the mileage would improve as a result also but not so.

Any insight on this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all.

Ps: the truck is an 03 ram quad cab 4.7L 4x2

Old 07-05-2011, 10:45 PM
HemiLonestar
Banned
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

1) It's a non HO 4.7 powered 5300lb truck.
2) See #1