3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Body lift - Leveling kit - shocks?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2011, 10:24 AM
BrentHamm
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Body lift - Leveling kit - shocks?

Just got a 2004 Ram Sport. Putting new tires on it this week, 275/65R20 Duratracs.

I would like to lift the truck a bit, maybe 2 to 4 inches or. Would like to keep the ride quality as good as possible.

I am new to lifting and not sure which way to go. At first i was thinking body lift, then someone told me to get the leveling kit. Then someone else said i should be able to just get new shocks that do what i want.

Any help greatly appreciated!

I have read a bunch in the forums on this, but still not sure which way to go.

Thanks!

Old 10-07-2011, 10:36 AM
08HEMI1500
Record Breaker
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Basically, leveling it will get rid of the factory "rake" and give you more front clearance for tires but it may weaken some from end components. A body lift will do just as it says, lift the body up off the frame and essentially put a space inbetween the two and it will keep the "rake" unless combined with a leveling kit. The only shocks that could give you extra clearance are the rancho quick lifts and the bilstein leveling shocks. For a 34 inch tire like youre going for though you dont NEED any extra clearance really but it will help. If you want the extra clearance up front for the cheapest way, I would say get some 3 inch spindles and then longer shocks.

Old 10-07-2011, 10:50 AM
BrentHamm
Amateur

Ok, so something like this:

http://www.airbagit.com/product-p/x2-spi-dod-06.htm

And then shocks for both front and rear?

Old 10-07-2011, 11:42 AM
HammerZ71
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts