3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

need help with 4.7

Old 01-30-2013, 07:39 PM
blazinch
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need help with 4.7

I have a 2002 4.7 non ho that spun a rod bearing that i am rebuilding. I was looking at putting ho pistons in it. Will these bolt onto my standard 4.7 rods. Will I have to have to have my computer tuned for them. Will it drop my mpg a lot or any and will I have to run higher grade gas.

Old 01-30-2013, 09:00 PM
davb673
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm no expert, but I've not seen anything that indicated HO pistons had different piston pins or rods. Do you already have the HO pistons? If not, I'd consider going to AIRRAM and getting a set of ROSS pistons instead.
I looked in my Chilton manual (no, not the greatest but does have some good info--and it was only $20), but it didn't have any piston info. I then looked at Rock Auto, and standard pistons are $37/piece, where HOs are $187/piece. Couldn't tell about the pins, so searched Google ) and this spells it out: http://www.dakota-durango.com/forum/...d.php?t=149072 Looks like the pins are the same...
Ross pistons at AIRRAM are $750 for a set, and you can pick the CR. http://www.airram.com/product.php?ca...%20pistons

A tune would certainly be best. I'm guessing you could skip it with 10:1.

Yes, you'd have to run premium. Don't let that scare you away. I'm running OEM pistons with a Superchips 91 tune and get 1.5mpg better. Higher compression will actually help your fuel mileage a little bit.

All that said, you could find a used one in a junkyard and maybe save some cash. Or a used Hemi to swap in. The PCM, as I understand it, can be swapped or tuned (never tried it myself) to run a Hemi. Or you could just bring along the whole wiring harness...