3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Power Wagon Locking Diffs versus Anti-Spin

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2005, 11:12 PM
Raven87
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Power Wagon Locking Diffs versus Anti-Spin

Hello all - newbie here. I'm looking at buying a used '05 Power Wagon. It of course has the electronic locking diffs that from what I've read only engage when you are in 4low - is this correct? I asked my salesman about if the standard Anti-spin was in effect when in 4High but he didn't know!

I apologize if this is a typical newb question but I did a search (and in the Dodge literature) with no success. So - do you have essentially an open axle when in 4 high or is the rear axle a typical 'posi' type unit? I don't know much about the electronic units and would like to have some measure of traction when in 4 high - will this truck offer that?

Old 12-10-2005, 12:47 AM
Raven87
Default RE: Power Wagon Locking Diffs versus Anti-Spin

Ok... I kept digging and this is what I have found. It is from Four Wheeler Magazine's writeup on the Power Wagon:

"A look underneath, however, reveals a rear 10.5-inch American Axle & Manufacturing (AAM) axle that features an electronically actuated locking rear differential called the TracRite GTL. This differential not only offers full lock when engaged, but it also operates as a helical limited-slip differential when disengaged. Like the rear, the front 9.25-inch axle also sports an AAM-designed TracRite electronically actuated front differential that offers full lock capability. "

Therefore, according to this info, the rear axle acts as a conventional limited-slip unit until electronically locked. At that point, it is positively locked but this can only occur in 4Low.

IF this is incorrect, please post the info.