3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Oil??

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2006 | 12:34 AM
tpowell3499
Default Oil??

Hello all. I'm new to this Ram thing so need some answers. Bought used 02 4.7 QC with 50k getting close to doing the oil change thing for the first time on it. Is there any brand oil and filter others pprefer using over others..

Is there any other component I should check, lube while i'm at it.

P.S. (Lot of people round town say Rotella T but isn't that for diesels.)

Old 07-26-2006 | 12:44 AM
eatsleepdrivesc
Veteran
Default RE: Oil??

for oil go ahead and switch over to full synthetic oil it will make the engine run better and lasts longer than regular oil, for oil brand i use mobile 1 10w-30 for the summer cause of the heat in florida and in the winter i use 5w-30, i have used the fram filter with no problems its like 4-5 bucks but right now im trying out a new mobil 1 filter and have had no problems so far. while your at it since its used you are probably gonna wanna go ahead and change all the fuilds out of it so you know they are good for a long time this is including trans and the rear end and unless the truck is running hot you probably can leave the radiator fluid alone cause if it is red it is a long life antifreeze from dodge and is rated for 100k...hope this helps and if ya need help just ask

Old 07-26-2006 | 12:55 AM
tpowell3499

Leaving in Maryland would it hurt to run 5-30 all year long

Old 07-26-2006 | 01:12 AM
prorider17
Amateur

I have recently purchased an 02' 4.7L reg Cab and I live in Daytona Beach, FL, and I need to change my oil. Wouldn't 10W-30 be better? It's 90-97 degrees out here everyday and never gets to freezing in the winter.

Old 07-26-2006 | 01:53 AM
eatsleepdrivesc
Veteran