3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

9 inch lift

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2006, 06:47 AM
munjer2000
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 9 inch lift

I want to lift my 2003 1500 quad cab 9 inches. 6 inch suspension, 3 inch body. some people tell me all i have to do is put the lift on, while others tell me i have to do all this other stuff to it, the drive shaft. the steering the brake cables. im kinda new to this stuff so i dont really have a clue on what im getting myself into. im going with the 6inch fabtech lift on autoanything.com. and im putting in 3inch spacers for the body. im confused.

Old 10-19-2006, 08:46 PM
ramtradxb
Professional
Default RE: 9 inch lift

That much of a lift puts quite an angle on the drive shaft where it connects with the U-joint, and if you have a long bed with the carrier bearing part way back it too has too much of an angle on it - so those issues have to be addressed. Better kits compensate for the change by angling the differential a little so where the drive shaft connects to the diff the angle is more friendly, and by adding shims under the bearing and sometimes the tranny mounts so the angle at the front is a little more friendly to the joint and the bearing. Better kits also address the issue of increased distance brake lines have to cover, and they change the steering components to compensate for the problems you could have there. When you lift the body in addition to lifting the suspension, you add more potential problems - things like wires and cables and shafts that run between the two now have to stretch the additional distance, particularly if you exceed the splined joint that some parts have to allow for some movement.