3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2006 stock amplifier crapping out?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2007, 08:55 PM
tallgoat
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2006 stock amplifier crapping out?

I've got a 2006 1500 QC with the7-speaker system(single CD with Sirius). At certainpoints during songs - radio, CD, oriPod -a "popping" sound can be heard from the speakers. It's like a pop or a crackle;that's the best way I can describe it. Yes, I know the factory setup is craptastic, and I plan on replacing the speakers soon, but I'm thinking the amp is crapping out and might need to be taken inunder warranty.

Here's my justification: first off, as arrogant as it sounds, I have a degree in audio engineering and have two decades of experience fine-tuning my ears to know what sounds good and what doesn't. I think I know what a distorting speaker sounds like, and this isn't the same kind of thing. I can find a spot in a particular song and repeat it over and over and get the same type of pop. A slight decrease in volume, or sometimes an INCREASE in volume will make the pops go away; but go back to the original vlome level and they come back.

I can isolate things to one zone with the fader and balance controls, and the pops cease at the given volume level. If I make the fader even again with the front and back at full volume, the pops return. It's almost like a certain load pulling on the amp channel at a certain time will cause this. It is very distracting when it occurs. Anyone else "hear" (ha-ha) of this happening, maybe with a similar model of truck?

Old 02-27-2007, 09:56 PM
shnormo
Veteran
Default RE: 2006 stock amplifier crapping out?