4th Gen Ram Tech 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

MDS Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2010, 07:59 AM
blakeroberts88
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MDS Question

Hey guys,

I am just wondering how I can tell if my MDS is working on my truck. I have a flowmaster exhaust with tips out the back but I can't hear or tell if my MDS is kicking in or not. My last truck (2006 Ram) had a magnaflow exhaust and it was VERY noticeable when MDS would kick in but for this new one it's incredibly hard to tell. I doublechecked on my DSP to make sure it was set to on. Anybody have any input on this?
I am running 5w-30 oil down here in South Florida. Could that be it?

Old 12-19-2010, 08:44 AM
Medic1
Professional

You should be able to feel the change. Even before I had an aftermarket exhaust I could feel the switch from 8 to 4 in the pedal, and especially when I was accelerating and it was switching back up to 8. Maybe I just have an incredibly sensitive foot! lol. Does your ram not have the "fuel saver" light? I find the light to be accurate most of the time when the MDS kicks in and out.

Old 12-19-2010, 09:58 AM
kddsRam
Veteran

30 weight oil may prevent it from kicking in. My truck came with an mds manual that warns on not running the correct oil.
Some guys have posted not being able to tell when in mds mode. Mine is obvious when it does. So obvious that I hate it and have it disabled.

Old 12-19-2010, 10:06 AM
Gary C.
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Medic1