4th Gen Ram Tech 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2012 Ram 1500 Shift issues?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2013, 08:24 AM
mfrady
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2012 Ram 1500 Shift issues?

I'm new to this forum so please be kind if I sound a little ignorant on this topic. It's been 7 years since I have owned a truck or new vehicle so I'm still learning about all of the new features on my truck. I just bought a 2012 Ram 1500 Crew Cab Lone Star edition with the 5.7 L. My issue is that when I'm driving, there seems to be quite a bit of humming noise coming from the transmission. It's not bad noises like it's broken or anything it's just a lot of high and low humming. It sounds normal while I'm driving but then at the top end of a gear, it sounds like it's either bogging or struggling. It's loudest when I'm maintaining speed at a certain speed limit and either slightly increase or decelerate, then the humming gets much louder. If I let off the gas all the way or if I accelerate it sounds normal again. I know that's vague but it's very difficult to explain. I believe this to be the cylinders turning off and on which would explain the deep hum and then it's quiet, then it's loud again. I just don't know if this is normal for these trucks to make all of these different tones while driving. It's almost funny sometimes it sounds like a musical instrument.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Mike.

Old 02-28-2013, 12:33 AM
jasonw
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 22 Likes on 11 Posts

For future reference:
https://dodgeforum.com/forum/dodge-r...s-section.html

My advice is to "test drive" a few other 2012 and 2013 Rams on the dealer lots. If you hear the same noise, then you know its normal.

Old 02-28-2013, 07:29 AM
mfrady