Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

What grand caravan would you buy?

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2011, 09:29 AM
wicelt
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What grand caravan would you buy?

Hi there,
I am totally new to the whole minivan scene and Dodge as well. I am trying to acquire a van for our family and not sure what way to go. I have looked at a few of SXT models and here's the dilemma:
Candidate #1 is a 2005 SXT with all the options 3.8 motor at 80K miles, but don't really like the dealer guy as well as it has AC issue that the dealer promises to repair before I buy. It's at about $8600.

Candidate #2 is 2007 SXT with no options 3.8 motor at 40K miles but has a rebuilt title and it's from a private party. He claims that the damage was to right rear quarter without suspension damage or airbag deployment Price is about $8400.

Candidate #3 is 2007 SXT with all the options 3.8 motor at 91K miles. All looks great except it's not local so I haven't seen it, but the carfax looks OK one owner etc. Price is about $8700.

My dilemma is that I can't decide if I want lower mileage and older or higher mileage and newer. Also can you chime in about 3.3 vs 3.8 motor. Is there a big difference in reliability etc.
Thank you in advance.

Old 08-22-2011, 11:22 AM
Marcus71
Amateur

The 3.8L motor is actually derived from the 3.3L motor, the main difference is the 3.8L has a bigger displacement so you get a little more power, but consume more fuel. Both are very reliable and been around since early to mid 90's so it's a proven engine.

Candidate #1, if you don't like the dealer guy, I'd go with your gut and probably stay away from him since i get the impression you don't feel comfortable with him. I'd also stay away from it because A/C problems are expensive and GC's have a been known to have bad a/c and this one could be a sign of other problems