Dodge Classics Have a pre-muscle era car? How about an old pickup truck? Talk classic automobiles within.

Help!!! 65 d100

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2019, 09:25 PM
Adrianw94
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Help!!! 65 d100

Okay so first off if this post is in the wrong place please let me know. Also sorry for so this post for being so long and so my questions.

Alright so my grandfather gave me his old D100 back about 10 years ago and its pretty much sat ever since. He's always loved the truck and been sorta disappointed that I never did anything with the truck so i was gonna make a custom truck outta it. It's a long wheel base, slant 6, and a 3 on the tree. Frame seems to be solid but the floorboards are gone, gas tank is full of rust, dents all over the place, and the bed is rusted so bad its falling off. I always absolutely hated the long wheel base so I was wondering if I could "chop" the frame to make it a short wheel base? I'm a pretty good welder and have had my fare share of fab work so i'm pretty sure I can do this, plus I have a shop with a lift. I won't be putting a factory bed on the truck after i do this either(plan to build one). Okay so here's my plans(please feel free to shoot holes in it if they don't make sense or if theirs an easier way to do them). I plan to "chop" the frame, shorten drive shaft, completely redo the brake system, take the slant 6 out and build a big block to put back in it with the trans and rear end to go with it, move the shiftier to the floor, replace bench seat with bucket seats, and then finish it off with a custom bed. Any advice? Where do i cut? What big block should i use? I don't mind to drop a little extra on the motor and trans. This is a long term project and I'll be doing almost all the machining, welding, and wrenching myself.

Thanks Adrian

Old 06-25-2019, 08:41 AM
Moparite
Grand Champion
Received 347 Likes on 327 Posts