Dodge Daytona The G platform cars that are to this day, fun sporty machines that car modding enthusiasts love to get their hands on, the Dodge Daytona and Chrysler Laser.

86 turbo z acting strange

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2004, 03:08 AM
sodomizer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 86 turbo z acting strange

Hi, I am 18 and have just bought my first car I can be proud of. It's an 86 daytona turbo z with strange, obviously fake, special edition tags on it. I got it at an auction for 950$ canadian. It has a beautiful body with little to no rust and a good paint job.

Well, now for the problem. When i floor it in the lower rpms (1500 - 3000) it jerks the car really hard until i let off the gas. I can punch it near the redline with little problems, but it still does jerk sometimes. It runs normally when I don't put the pedal to the floor, witch is a good thing. Also, its giving me 15 psi boost. I don't think thats stock.

Iam not very good with turbos, and I am an amature mechanic, so any advise or help is much apreciated. Thanks.

Old 10-04-2004, 04:03 AM
fireyice01
Default RE: 86 turbo z acting strange

From the description you are giving it sounds to me like torque steer. I don't know about your car, being a couple years older than mine, but my driveshafts are not equal lengths. What happens is that when you really romp on the pedal, it grabs really hard, and pulls the car one direction or the other (I believe it's towards the shorter shaft, but don't know for sure, as I just got my car to start for the first time since I got it on wednesday (go figure if the cam is out of time, the plug wires are on the wrong plugs and the distributor's 180 out, the thing won't start) and I have no front seats to take it for any kind of drive... someone may have to correct me on that... but I'm pretty sure it would be jerking to the left?

Old 10-04-2004, 04:27 AM
sodomizer