Dodge Magnum The Dodge Magnum, the wagon that made wagons cool. The unique look of the Dodge Magnum makes any trim level, from SE to SRT-8, an absolute head turner.

Who has RT exhaust sorted out

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2004, 10:44 PM
mplatt911
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Who has RT exhaust sorted out

Hi all, Newbie here. My AWD RT will be coming in withing the next few days. I want to put an exhaust on it right away and have been reviewing posts. Who has one sorted out? It is our family car. I want it loud but not resonating while highway driving. Can any one tell me what is out there working? Too cheap to spend $900 on a Borla and Magnaflow has not released theirs yet. I think I can do well at a custom exhaust shop if I know what to tell them to use.
Thanks

Old 10-07-2004, 10:52 AM
MagnumRT
Captain
Default RE: Who has RT exhaust sorted out

Replace the factory "suitcase" muffler with Flowmaster series 40 mufflers, remove the stock resonators by rear bumper, replace those with two shorty glasspacks or straight through resonators, be sure to reuse the factory chrome tips.

Been there, done that.

Bob

Old 10-08-2004, 01:10 PM
mplatt911

Thanks!!
I recently spent about 20 minutes on the phone with a magnaflow salesperson. Really appreciated it from them. The, to be released, magnaflow setup utilizes a dual in/out crossover muffler in place of the suitcase and two small mufflers in the rear. The whole system is 2.5" tubing instead of stock 2.25" .The sound clips sound good.

Since it will take too long for it to be released, and no price yet, he recommended the following route to try and replicate it.

Using stock 2.25" tubing: The Hemi engine naturally has some resonation and the best place for resonators is where the suitcase is and small mufflers in the rear.

Using 2.5" replicate as stated above. Use part #'s 14468 for crossover muffler and #14377 for rear mufflers and add #35136 for the tips. Sounds like it could be a tad expensive though.