Dodge Magnum The Dodge Magnum, the wagon that made wagons cool. The unique look of the Dodge Magnum makes any trim level, from SE to SRT-8, an absolute head turner.

What Type Of SubWoofer Box?

Old 06-24-2005, 02:22 PM
RiotWithin
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What Type Of SubWoofer Box?

Sealed, Ported, or BandPass? I wanted bandpass now that I can fit one, but the installer said he wouldn't recommend it. I have 2 AudioBahn 12" Eternal Subs, and AudioBahn's A2300HCT Amp. They should be running at 600 watts RMS a piece. So which box with that combo will sound the best with the vehicle I am working with?

Old 06-24-2005, 03:48 PM
356MAGNUM
Record Breaker
Default RE: What Type Of SubWoofer Box?

Try the DF Audio/Visual. There are some guys that work in stereo shops for a more informed answer. Building a box is more then just slapping some wood together. I am an amature builder. Design type is dependant upon what you are looking for also, SPL vs sound quality. I was a musician and noticed that most the professional bass speakers for bass guitar were either sealed or bandpass. If I remember remember correctly the basic statement, sealed for truth of reproduction, ported for more bass output and bandpass for best SPL, hold true. In the studio all the speakers are sealed and for live performance they were bandpass. There should have been a spec sheet with the speakers. The Audiobahn site didnt list the recommended enclosure size for you speaker. I have seen people put in a 15" sub in a box that was about the same size as the shipping box and wondered why it didnt "Boom" like in the showroom. They didnt realize that the recommenfded box size was bigger than the car it self haha. Now there are some speakers designed for small boxes, Kicker SoloBaric comes to mind. Looking at the site, the AudioBahn speakers are designed for athestics with flame cage design. Unless you are using plexiglass to show them off, it seems kinds of a waste. Well I hope that this is rambling i