Dodge Neon The sport compact car that took the world by storm. the Dodge Neon. Depending on the trim level you get, this sporty ride has something to offer everyone.

New Member, shaking issues while car is idling

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2014, 03:29 AM
K_Miller33
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member, shaking issues while car is idling

I recently purchased my car (2003 Dodge Neon), I have had a lot of problems, but the most recent ones has been with shaking, I have had my engine mounts replaced twice they thought that was the problem, I noticed that when I accelerate the car doesn't shake, but as soon as the car is idling that the shaking starts again, if I turn my rear de frost on or anything with air or heat that the shaking is worse, I have also noticed that the car idling lower (usually at the 500) mark, seems quite low, I'm new to this, someone help, is it an electrical issue, engine mounts, or something else? Help!

Old 01-30-2014, 09:54 AM
steve die
Amateur

I had this issue as well last year. It drove me nuts. I had already done the motor mounts, shot anyways. it helped but it was still very bad when at stop lights, especially during the cold and when i had the AC or Heat on (added load to engine). If you just tap the accelerator, just enough to engage the throttle cable it will go away. that's a good sign of a dirty intake. I eventually just took out the air box and filter, unbolted the throttle body.

Cleaned the throttle body with TB cleaner (make sure its safe for sensors), don't forget to open and close the throttle plate via the lever. Don't worry, there is a lot of crap in there. Pool of black sludge came out of mine (had 180k). I also sprayed in some TB cleaner into the neck of the intake manifold (really didn't feel like removing it) and whipped with a shop rag a few times. A lot of sludge came out of there as well.