Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Steering groan help

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2008, 03:17 AM
kgn2001
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Steering groan help

Need some advice on steering noise.
When I turn corners or pull into park in the driveway the steering makes a groaning noise thatI can feel in the steering wheel. I have changed the PS fluid and it doesn't leak any fluid.After the fluid change it worked great until everything got warmed up to operating temp. I have been driving it for several months now groaning at every turn and I'm getting fed up. It acts like the pump may be starving for fluid. I don't think the wheel is any harder to turn than it use to.

Does anyone have any Ideas?

I have a 2001 4x4 2500 5.9 truck is stock with stock tire size.

I do need new sway bar bushings and shocks, but Idon't think that would help my groaning problem.

This is my first time to post so ifI did it wrong who cares[:'(]

Old 04-10-2008, 11:04 AM
Scott91370
Professional
Default RE: Steering groan help

Have you checked the fluid since you flushed it? Could be that if you drained it all out it may have an ait bubble in it. Just don't over fill it, I learned the hard way- replacing blown seals is no fun on a fwd car.

Also, to help narrow it down you could put the front on stands (obviously supported very well), with the key in the ignitionturned forward (truck not running). Next turn the actual wheel/tire assembly by hand and see if it makes noise. If it does then it won't be the pump/rack because fluid won't be being pushed through.

Good luck. Power steering is great but it sucks when there is problems.

Old 04-10-2008, 11:25 AM
GOD RAM IT
Record Breaker

yeah jack it up and go stop to stop slowly with the cap off the pump. sometimes air bubbles get stuck in there and it makes noise.