Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Stock air intake question

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2009, 03:18 PM
Grr287
Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stock air intake question

I've done some searching and read some threads, but I'm still a little unclear on something. Are there aftermarket air filters that I can drop into the stock air intake that will make the turbo whistle louder? I'm sure this is a pretty common question that you guys get alot, but I'm new to this diesel stuff.

-Garrett

Old 03-16-2009, 03:53 PM
Coal Train
All Star

The filter isn't the problem on the stock intake, it's the baffling inside the tube going to the turbo.

You can gut the tube and it makes it significantly louder (and opens up the tube).

All you need to do is pull the tube and two elbows off, remove the hose clamps, pull the elbows off the tube (making a note of the alignment marks on it..there is one mark on one side and two on the other and corresponding marks on the elbows).

Once you take the elbows off, you need to pry the one end off the tube with a scrwe driver. You can't scrwe it up, only one side comes apart. It's the top portion of the tube. Just put a flat head screw driver in the gap and start popping it apart.

You are breaking the seal, but it goes back together easily.

Now, once it's separated, just pul the guts out of the tube. They come right out.

Once that's out and you're ready to put it back together, get some Gorilla Glue and run a bead around the area that you seperated.

Use two large clamps and clamp the tube together and let it sit overnight.

The Gorilla glue is going to expand and squeeze out of the gap. You'll need to trim the excess in the morning.

Trim it up, put the elbows back on (using the reference marks) and reinstall.

It's MUCH easier than it sounds.

Old 03-16-2009, 04:13 PM
Coal Train
All Star

You're in luck.