Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

New to Diesels, Electrical question.

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2010, 04:55 PM
Wingedmare
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Diesels, Electrical question.

Hello all! I'm new to owning a diesel truck and am having a few issues.

Truck is a 2006 3500 megacab. Check engine light comes off and on and when it is on and I do the key turn for codes it is giving me codes for my Fuel Rail Sensor, My security system, and 2 other things I can't think of right now. I've also noticed my engine is slow turning over, my lights interior lights tend to dim and brighten until the truck has been running for a bit, and the blowers seem to lose power as well until the truck has been running for a bit. After the truck has been running and I go to restart within an hour she fires right up and doesn't have any of the dimming etc. This is leading me to belive my Batteries are involved.

Seeing as how I'm new to this truck I am wondering if I am on the right track and also if I do need to replace my batteries do I always do both at the same time or have them checked to see if one is bad and the other is not. Also what is a reccomended battery and what should I expect to pay for them and how long should I expect them to last?

I want to thank you all in advance for helping me out and appologize for my inexperience. I would rather ask here and get an understanding before some Mech trys to take my money; especialy as I normaly do all engine work myself as we are military and have access to a full shop with pretty much every tool I need. So, once I'm armed with proper information I can very likely do it myself.

Tnx!

Old 01-22-2010, 06:30 PM
jmn1960
Professional
Wink