Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Engine surging at speeds above 35mph

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2011, 11:50 PM
eye4mud
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine surging at speeds above 35mph

I have a 19999 Dodge Ram 3500 Dually 5.9l Diesel. The engine is stock no mods, all factory original intake and exhaust with an exhaust brake.

First my cruise control stopped working and now while trying to hold a constant speed I get intermittant surging, the engine will drop in rpm's and and then surge back above where it was before and then return to the speed I was holding it at. Originally only did this at lower speeds, now is becoming more frequent at higher speeds.

Any ideas? I am new to Diesel's so I am lost... EGR Valve? Throttle position sensor bad? Fuel filter clogged?

Any help would be appreciated.

Old 01-04-2011, 03:13 AM
rond97sport
Professional

the lift pumps are horrible on those motors and they really dont like dirty fuel filters so make sure you have fresh filters.id need more info though to help you.as far as tps the throttle pedal is the tps and they are not on the cheap when they go you loose the pedal all together .surging could also be caused by a weak wastegate on the turbo or 1 that is slightly stuck open .trouble shooting your 5.9 isb can be a drawn out process.and a costly 1.any codes engine lights so on.the cruise problem is probably a broken wire to or from the ecu .let me know if you pull any codes from it i can tell you what the cummins factory codes mean and what to look for .the dodge side of it not so much.

Old 01-04-2011, 09:24 AM
jasonw
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 21 Likes on 11 Posts

I will move this to the diesel section, get you more help that way. Mostly gassers over here.

Old 01-04-2011, 11:29 AM
stodg73
Amateur