Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Really dumb question about shifting...

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2011, 04:44 PM
cowboytrucker32
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Really dumb question about shifting...

Ok, so I am a former trucker. Over 400,000 miles behind the wheel of a semi. Driven every type of transmission that has been in a semi. The old two stick Mack. 18 speed, super 10, 13 speed and even the automatic semis you name it, I have driven it. But, I have only driven standard transmission in a car once. And I sucked at it.

In a semi, you have two ways to shift. Double Clutch or no clutch. When I drove, I never clutched, and haven't ground a gear in a long time. Now my dumb question is can I shift a large diesel pickup, like a Ram 3500 with out the clutch? I have heard that you don't have to clutch to shift with a diesel pickup, but I have also heard otherwise. But nothing from a reliable source. I know this is an extremely dumb question. Sorry.

Old 02-14-2011, 05:23 PM
dasnake
Veteran
Default no such thing as "dumb"

as the header says there is no such thing as a dumb question, that said, i gotta ask why would you want to shift minus the clutch? i shift my jeep without the clutch the odd, very odd time, but i always use the clutch, my ram is an auto, so that doesn't pertain to you, but isn't driving a semi with multi speed trans and a four or six speed pickup a bit like comparing apples and oranges, maybe my question is "dumb" also.

Old 02-14-2011, 05:46 PM
cowboytrucker32