Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Idle Automatic Transmission "Pull"

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2011, 10:18 PM
diverp
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Idle Automatic Transmission "Pull"

Hi. This is my first time on this forum. Thought I would see if anyone could give me a hand in diagnosing something. Here is my truck:
-2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Mega Cab Laramie
-Diesel, Automatic

Yesterday, a behavior started with my truck. Either hot or cold, I can be sitting at a stop with my foot on the brake. If I am in park or neutral, not problems. If I am in D, 1, 2 or R, with my foot on the brake, the transmission slowly surges/revs to advance, eventually to the point where the vehicle is laboring to push forward, but with no noticeable increase in rpm's. If I shift back into Neutral, the engine will over rev shortly, then drop back to normal idle. Either way gives a nasty "clunk" when shifting ino or out of these gears and back into park or N.

If I am in any of the gears (D, 1, 2, or R), with my foot on the brake, the transmission is pushing trying to advance the truck...if I let off the brake and slowly let it rock forward, the transmission noticeably stops pushing so hard and behaves normall (all speeds are under 5 mph).

There is no check engine light. I don't have a scanner at the moment to be able to check for codes.

It would appear that it is more of a transmission issue (solenoid or torque converter issue) or a sensor/switch issue (brake switch?). Not sure. The only reason I rule out a gas/air issue is because the truck runs normally when moving at any speed and idles perfectly. If I never had to slow down to the point of having to brake (anything above 2 mph), I'd be great.

Any direction or help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Paul

Old 07-18-2011, 12:22 AM
dirtydog
Moderate User
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts