Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

New to the Forum Just got a new to me 2001 2500 4x4 Cummins Diesel

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2012, 02:19 AM
condor74
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the Forum Just got a new to me 2001 2500 4x4 Cummins Diesel

Like the title says. I just picked up a 2001 Dodge Ram 2500 4x4. It is a little rough but has tons of potential. It has a 5.9 24 valve Cummins motor. It has a 5 speed manual transmission. Right now the transfer case has some issues but I have the parts on order for it. This is my first Cummins.

A little about me. I have always been a Mopar guy. I have a 68 Plymouth Satellite, 67 Dodge Dart, 08 Dodge Caliber, 02 Ram 1500, 88 Jeep Cherokee Rock Crawler, 95 Jeep Grand Cherokee, and a 90 F250 7.3 diesel that I am trying to sell right now. I know it sounds like a lot of cars but I live in the country and lots are projects.
I am a Fleet Manager for an oil field wireline company but before that I was Technician at a Dodge Dealership for the previous 15 years I specialized in Driveability, Electrical, Air Conditioning, and Diesel.

Old 04-29-2012, 04:01 PM
hillbilli
Veteran

Welcome and Congrats on the new Cummins.

Old 05-01-2012, 07:22 PM
Jigabop
Champion
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

welcome to owning one of the best motors around!

You are going to want to do some immediate modifications to that truck if it doesn't have them already:

1. upgrade the lift pump!!! factory lift pumps are absolute junk and the #1 cause of VP44 injection pump failure. I recommend an airdog, fass, or raptor lift pump. they might be a little spendy, but they are cheaper than replacing a VP44 and will support future mods to the truck. The VP44 has a very sensitive tolerance for fuel pressure and requires 10-20PSI fuel pressure at all times. Anything outside that range will damage the injection pump.