Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

2003 4x4 Ram H/O Turbo Diesel ~ FCA or Lift Pump

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2014, 07:46 PM
whenin
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2003 4x4 Ram H/O Turbo Diesel ~ FCA or Lift Pump

Engine quit as if fuel starved. Purchased new in June 2003. 198,700 miles. The fuel pump turns off within 2 seconds of turning ignition on. The engine turns over fine ... just will not start.... I drained fuel filter (no water)...

Could any of the following be my problem:

1. The Fuel Control Acuator (FCA)?

2. The Lift or Fuel Transfer Pump (I did a code check ~~ P-0628)?

3. Do I also need to reset/reflash the ECM (by touching "disconnected" battery cables together?

Any thoughts would help! Oh, I am new to the forum, so I may need some guidance here ......

Old 02-05-2014, 09:29 PM
whenin

OK --- so there has been 60 views of my question and no responses. I realize I am a newbie although I have read about many issues and concerns on this forum for a long time. Have I posed my problem here wrong, am I on the wrong forum, thread, etc ..... for those of you in the know ... please educate me as to what (if anything) I am doing wrong by requesting assistance or more information on my issue (or any future issues).

Do I need to post more information about the problem, my vehicle, etc. etc ....

I consider this forum to be professional ... any help is appreciated!

Thank you

Old 02-05-2014, 09:54 PM
horatio102
Champion
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Disconnect one battery and check both batteries - you'll need a tester, not just a DVOM for voltage. Load test them.

Put a fuel pressure gauge on it and see what kind of pressure the lift pump is generating.

Old 02-08-2014, 11:42 AM
whenin
Question

Installed new fuel filter. Nothing.