Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Need some help

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2014, 04:16 PM
dand75
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some help

I have a 2006 Dodge 2500 with a Cummins that until now has ran perfectly. I cranked it up and it ran for maybe a second then died. Now all it does it turn over. Will not crank. I'm not a mechanic by any means and would really like some ideas of where to start looking before I spend a ton of $ that I don't have to have it towed to a dealer. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. The "check gauges" light comes on and the check engine light along with the glow plugs coil light blink as the engine turns over. I don't know if this is normal when cranking and I just haven't noticed it or if it's indicitave of something.

Old 02-09-2014, 07:30 PM
p38251
Record Breaker

Sounds like fuel issue. If you can check fuel pressure at the fuel rail. It needs to be a high pressure gauge. Diesels have higher pressure than gas.

Old 02-09-2014, 07:51 PM
dand75

Could it be the fuel filter?

Old 02-09-2014, 10:50 PM
horatio102
Champion
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Ok before the Cummins thugs jump you... you don't have glow plugs, you've got grid heaters in the intake.
Since the truck won't run, getting it to an auto parts store won't work, but you need to pull the codes. Most auto parts stores will let you borrow a scanner to pull codes in their parking lot. Maybe someone near you has a way to pull codes. Autel sells a unit that is less than $50.

As far as checking fuel pressure goes, you can check for lift pump pressure with a standard 0-100 psi fuel pressure gauge, but to check rail pressure you'll need a gauge that will read up to 30,000 psi.

If you talk to a mechanic, turning over and cranking are the same thing. The motor is spinning but not firing.