Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

'88/'89'90 Diesel: what do I look for? New here,Tips appreciated...

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2006, 11:57 PM
DennisT
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '88/'89'90 Diesel: what do I look for? New here,Tips appreciated...

I'm waiting for a 'phone call from someone with a Dodge Cummins pickup from, "...the 1980's." So it can only be an '88 or '89, if that's when they were introduced. It is supposed to be a decent truck at a good price (sorta family connection here), but I don't know what to look for. I could really use something to haul furniture, belongings, three trips with car trailer, etc., over Cascade Mountains here in WA state during the next 4 months.

Any problems with the first 3 or 4 years of the Dodge/Cummins production? I can look for usual mechanicals, I'm just new to diesels.

Tips appreciated.

Dennis

Old 01-17-2006, 12:29 PM
Drew
Professional
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: '88/'89'90 Diesel: what do I look for? New here,Tips appreciated...

oooo. . the origional ISB's. I would say it is an 89 since that is when they were introduced, it might have a build date in 88, but in 89 is when they were set out to the public.

first thing I would do would be to change all the fluids, filters, and grease every grease fitting and forget about stopping for anything but fuel. one thing is common about these engines from 89 all the way to the new 06's. the more you load them up the better they run.

an old 12 valve is an engine that is hard to beat. they are virtualy indestructable and with a few adjustments to the pump you can make that engine into a rocket