Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

deisels cats and me

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2006, 03:16 PM
dixiedodge7369
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default deisels cats and me

okkk so i have a 06 2500 cummins of course... 6 speed4500 miles i have a few things here ive been pondering... as of now completly stock have a S&B intake on the way as we speed for the noise... next will be some exhaust.. but back to the story sooo latly ive been babying her just to skip on the fuel and see what numbers i can rake in ... but ive noticed ever since ive been babying her anytime i do get on the throttle we got some smoke out the tail pipe.. now im a VW tech and ive messed with my fair share of TDI's i know they have problems with the intake systems getting all plugged up and cats getting all plugged with with LOTs of stop and go traffic and people who drive slow... so heres my question regarding cats i know on VW if u take the cat out on a deisel or any other model for that matter power goes to 0 faults are thrown in ever control module u can speak of... even putting a high flo or non stock cat with trigger faults up the a**.. so is it worth removing the cat completly from the cummins... with out throwing faults like mad i know theres no O2s but u never know what systems these ECM s are cking and when... also any power increase from removing the cat/?? for exhaust im looking at these stacks which are just plan coool but i want it loud as possible but i do wanna put some sort of muffler or resonator to keep my low end... so any thoughts on the cat situation on these???

Old 09-10-2006, 05:12 PM
Drew
Professional
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: deisels cats and me