Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

Dodge B250 1985 Choke Problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2009, 10:16 AM
An3Azz
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dodge B250 1985 Choke Problem

Hi, I am totally new to Dodge Vans and therefore I have a question that someone here might be able to answer.

My van is an 1985 B250 Royal Wagon with 318 and 2 barrel carb, but it seems like the carb has lost its choke function over the years. This is a problem because I live in northern Sweden and it's pretty cold sometimes .

I haven't opened anything up yet so I just want some information on what to check first, and if there is som common problem with the choke. I assume that the choke is automatic on this van as in most american vheicles I have seen.

So were to begin is my question?

Old 03-04-2009, 12:36 PM
alloro
Van & CUV Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 72 Likes on 68 Posts

The very first thing you'll want to do is remove the air cleaner housing and see if the choke closes all the way when it's cold. You will have to press the gas pedal once before checking just to make sure none of the cams or linkages are holding it open from the last time it was hot.

Old 03-04-2009, 01:27 PM
An3Azz

Originally Posted by alloro
The very first thing you'll want to do is remove the air cleaner housing and see if the choke closes all the way when it's cold. You will have to press the gas pedal once before checking just to make sure none of the cams or linkages are holding it open from the last time it was hot.
Will do, I get home from work on friday so the first thing I'll do is to test that.

Old 03-05-2009, 03:16 PM
An3Azz