Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

HVAC Questions - Twin System

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2006, 11:09 PM
idh63
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HVAC Questions - Twin System

Hi,

I am a newbie to the forum.

My van front A/C decided not to get cold this summer. I use the van on average once a fortnight, so I didn't realise that it was not getting cold until the beginning of June.

The rear A/C is nice and icy cold. The front wavers from ambient temp to a little bit cold. To expand on that statement; I start the car and for the rest of that day it's ambient temp. Another day I start the Van and it is a little bit cold for all use that day.

I was suspicious of the closing of the hot water control valve and sure enough I could blow air through it open or closed so I ordered a replacement. Blow me down the raditaor had sprung a leak so I replaced that also.

I got the Van back together today and the A/C front is ambient temp still. Putting my hand on the expansion valve it seems chilly. the pipes going into the front A/C air box are chilly.

I woundered if there is something wrong with the expansion valve but I am not sure that makes sense.

All comments greatfully received.

Thanks

7/8/06

Today the AC is working?! The only thing I did was run the onboard diagnostic by holding the trip button and turning on the ignition.

Old 07-14-2006, 01:56 PM
smartobject
Rookie
Default RE: HVAC Questions - Twin System

I don't know -- the only difference between front and rear are the expansion valves and evaporators, so it may be the expansion valve. If you had a leak neither front or back would get cold.

Get some gauges on it and check pressures. That could help pin-point the diagnosis.

Stay cool,
Lee

Old 07-17-2006, 12:22 PM
idh63

Hi Lee,