Dodge Ram The full size truck that leads the way in innovative and unique styling, the Dodge Ram. With best in class available horsepower, the Dodge Ram out runs any competitor.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Mall of Georgia

440 Hemi in a D150

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2005, 12:51 PM
exopar
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 440 Hemi in a D150

Ok Guys have some que question that hoppefully will help making up my mind which direction to go for.

Have a 1992 D150 pick up 4 on the flor with a 360 5.9L naturally aspirated in there.....

Also have a 440 Hemi engine out of a Charger 440.....

Question here is if the 440 whould fit (plug and play) with this transmision or it will be a major job to adapt it....? Any having experience doing this?

On the other hand I have some experience with Ford and Chevy performance mod but non with Dodge, how easy is to get some extra ponies out of the 5.9L? What mods are the most sensitive on this engines?

Aim here is to build a very ( and I mean really) fast truck for the street, I would love to have a non sofisticated and old loock on this truck but plenty of ponies under the hood capable to kick some a$$. Of course it will not be a daily driven truck due to fuel consumtion but a fast truck to be used for sunday ride street machine....

So far I have not make my mind which route to go......... Any idea or sudgestion will be more than welcome.....

Old 02-08-2005, 12:59 PM
moparturd
Banned
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: 440 Hemi in a D150

The tranny from the 2 engines will not interchange easily. Maybe they will with a bellhousing, but I'm not sure how compatable the newer tranny would be to the older BB housing. You need a BB tranny. The 360 can be built to haul the mail, but at the expense of drivability. The BB would be the better choice.