Dodge Ram The full size truck that leads the way in innovative and unique styling, the Dodge Ram. With best in class available horsepower, the Dodge Ram out runs any competitor.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Mall of Georgia

Decision on a dodge truck

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2004, 08:25 PM
aj811
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Decision on a dodge truck

hey guys, I'm new to dodges and trucks and this site but it looks really informative around here from what I can tell.
Anyways I found a 2001 5.2 L Ram 1500, 5 speed manual ,quad cab short bed here in Southern California

It has 48k miles on it and I can get it for just under 10 grand before tax, title ect. I like the fact that its still has fairly low millage compared to other trucks I've been looking at for the price range, and I like the 4 doors and the V8. What I'm not too thrilled about is its pretty much has no optioins included, no power anything ect.

My real question is how reliable can I expect it to be, and what are some of the most common problems with these 2001 5.2 L Rams?

If some of you much more knowlegable Dodge guys could help a newbie out. I would appreciate it a lot.
Thanks

Old 03-28-2004, 09:43 PM
dodgemech
All Star
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Decision on a dodge truck

common problems-lower intake gasket blown on intake, water pump leak, and pinging on acceleration

Old 03-29-2004, 03:32 AM
aj811

Is the 5.2 L engine any good? how are the manual transmissions in these trucks?. Is it true that the interior and exterior will beging to fall apart on me pretty soon?

Bottom line I want a reliable truck that I can keep for at least 5 or 6 years. Is this 2001 Ram with 48 k miles a good buy at just under 10 grand? I'm just a college student right now so I cant really afford a new truck, so I just want to get best bang for the buck pretty much

Sorry for all the questions but I just always have to do my research
Thanks

Old 03-29-2004, 03:45 AM
bearcat74
Professional