Dodge Ram The full size truck that leads the way in innovative and unique styling, the Dodge Ram. With best in class available horsepower, the Dodge Ram out runs any competitor.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Mall of Georgia

Brake Rotors

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2004 | 09:07 PM
pershingd
|
Professional
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Brake Rotors

Hello all! Newbie here so bear with me. I've got a 2003 Quad Cab 2wd 4.7L that I've already put 41000 on and the only problem I've had since it was new has been the dreaded warped brake rotors. I've already had the problem fixed once under warranty, but the first time I came to a stop with a mild load - warpsville. Since I'm not too hopeful for the dealer to do anything helpful - I was wondering if anyone has replaced the rotors with aftermarket units (ie not from dealer) and eliminated the warping issues.

I managed to get the dealer promise to reimburse the cost of the extended warranty when I reach 70,000 miles if I don't need it when I bought my truck, so if I can remedy this on my own for less than that $1300 refund check I'm game. Besides, I'm not willing to lose that money by having the dealer "fix" it again and then have to replace the rotors on my own anyway.

Thanks,
David Pershing

Old 08-28-2004 | 10:27 PM
mazz
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Brake Rotors

Sure hope you got that reimbursement promise in writing. Otherwise, you may be out of luck. But that's another issue.

There are several ways to go. If you want to stay with rotors that can be resurfaced, there are some good quality rotors available from other than the dealer. These normally cost less than $40 each. A good set of pads may run $50.