Dodge Stratus The Dodge Stratus. Whether you've got a sedan or coupe, base model or R/T, theDodge Stratus has winning looks and thrilling performance.

Help with repairs

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2012, 04:18 PM
firechick12
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with repairs

Ok, so yes, I'm a typical female driver and I re-ended someone haha! Now I need help. Most of the repairs I can do myself..the headlight assembly's, the bumper, fender liners aren't all that hard to change. but what about the hood and the upper radiator tie bar? I just want to make sure that I'm not getting over my head and mess something up. The hood seems like it will come right off, but again I'm looking for advice. Should I do these myself or get a professional? I own a 04 Dodge Stratus R/T 3.0L V6 2DR coupe. I figured since it needs fixed I can finally but some aftermarket parts in it also! If anyone could help or has any suggestions that would be great! Thanks!

Old 08-11-2012, 10:19 PM
moe7404
Record Breaker

the first thing i think about is if you fix it will a insurance co insure it for comprehensive if you do the work. just be carefull jacking the car up, double check it to be stable. bigger cars mostly need two people to lift a hood, but a car your size i dont know. sounds like a good time to go to a flame paint job.
moe7404@gmail.com

Old 08-11-2012, 10:24 PM
BillS
Captain

most parts aren't hard to change ,the hood a pain it will come right off you'll need help removing and replacing because of size of it,you loosen all bolts take them all out except bottom one on both sides,make sure hood is supported by someone on each side as you take off last bolt don't want it falling into windshield.to install reverse procedure you will have to align hood so it closes properly b4 you tighten bolts all the way

Old 08-12-2012, 11:21 AM
firechick12